Program notes

Sonatina for harp, opus 108 (2020)

  1. 1. Ripples on water – Meditative and calm
  2. 2. Drifting sands – Moderately fast
  3. 3. Heard on the wind – Flowing

Sonatina for harp, opus 108, is a short work in three movements written in February 2020 in response to a request from Alice Giles to write some short pieces suitable for early stage harp performers. The three movements are modal and diatonic in style and have titles evoking the spirit of the aeolian harp – carried on the wind and meditative in mood.

These diatonic pieces can be played on lever or pedal harp and there are no chromatic alterations to pitch within each piece.

© Andrew Schultz, 2020