Program notes

Four Inventions for piano, opus 74a (2009)

  1. 1. Paradise Bar Prelude
  2. 2. Toccata (in two parts)
  3. 3. Little Interlude for Billy
  4. 4. Poppy’s Fugue (in two parts)

Four Inventions was composed in 2009 for Antony Gray as part of an Australia Council Fellowship. The music is based on my chamber opera, The Children’s Bach, to a libretto by Glenn Perry after Helen Garner’s novel of the same name. The Four Inventions can be performed as a set or as individual pieces. Each of the short movements takes its material from sections of the opera and elaborates free inventions that are often quite contrapuntal in character.

© Andrew Schultz, 2009