Program notes

Moon and ocean for piano, opus 100 no.3 (2017)

  1. 1. Flowing, smooth
  2. 2. Slow, calm

Moon and ocean for piano consists of two short pieces. It is the third work in a series of pairs of short pieces in the opus 100 set: Prelude and Postscript, Two Interludes and now Moon and Ocean.  They are all fairly subdued pieces and quite short – about 5 minutes per pair.  Moon and ocean is based on a duet from a larger work, Southern Cantata.  The movement titles of the pieces come from the elegiac text, by Katherine Firth, for a duet in the cantata.

The moon drowned in the ocean,
A silver coin.
Is water safer than land?

© Andrew Schultz, 2017.